Red-Footed Falcon success

A couple of weeks ago I was bemoaning the fact that a Red-Footed Falcon was flying about Walberswick while I couldn’t get to see it….damn work :/ Anyway, would you believe it but one turns up at Dunwich Heath, so off I trot and manage to get the little beauty….A life tick none-the-less….it hung around for the next couple of days commuting between Dunwich Heath and Minsmere (where I managed to see it two days later).

I did go back to Dunwich and try to see the grey and red falcon catching dragonflies acrobatically on the wing again but failed. All was not lost though as I did get nice views of Dartford Warblers and got sidetracked by the cafe run by the National Trust. The curried butternut squash tart followed by a double chocolate ice cream helped numb the pain of missing out on the falcon 🙂

Leave a comment